Newspaper Misidentifies Journalist as Terror Suspect

A local French-language Montreal paper today on their website apparently misidentified a Canadian Press reporter, and buddy of mine Sidhartha Banerjee as a terror suspect.   Apparently the page wasn’t up for very long.  What the hell!!

sid-or-said

About Phil Carpenter

Hi all. I'm a newspaper photo/video journalist at The Gazette in Montréal, Canada, and I'm just reviving my film making skills from my university days, for the online version of our paper. It's been 13years since I began shooting professionally, four years at The Gazette, and a year since I've begun shooting and producing video stories and documentary shorts. I'm enjoying it immensely. In addition I have taught photojournalism at Concordia University's school of journalism, been a guest lecturer and panelist on classes and workshops on photo and multi media journalism. View all posts by Phil Carpenter

One response to “Newspaper Misidentifies Journalist as Terror Suspect

  • Joe

    Haha! I turned on my monitor and this page was up – my wife had been on the computer before me. I saw the picture and thought it was Sid. Then I read the caption and realised that it was actually a terrorist suspect, who happened to look uncannily like him. I was going to tell people that I found a funny picture of an alleged terrorist who looks just like Sidhartha Banerjee! Finally my eyes drifted upwards and I saw the headline. It’s funny, sad and preposterous at the same time.

Leave a Reply

